top of page

The Turks and Caicos Islands are a group of islands located in the north Caribbean. They are part of the geological Bahamian archipelago (but have no political links with the Bahamas) and consist of the Caicos grouping of islands and the smaller Turks islands. Providenciales, a Caicos island, it is the centre of tourism and economic activity in the country while Grand Turk remains the capital as it has since the 18th century.

The Islands are a UK Overseas Territory, similar to Bermuda or the Cayman Islands. While Her Majesty’s government in London retains responsibility for foreign relations and maintains a degree of oversight through a resident governor, the Islands are largely self-governing.

Immigration is locally controlled; British citizens from the UK have virtually no special status in the Islands (a few exceptions exist, such as the ability to register aircraft in the territory).

The legal system is based on English law, but with a distinct set of laws. Disputes are heard in local courts with a final right of appeal to the Privy Council in London.

There is no restriction on foreign ownership of property (for natural persons) and the government guarantees title through a land registry. Opportunities abound– the Islands are the 2nd largest populated UK Overseas Territory (larger than the Cayman Islands and over 8x more land area than Bermuda, yet a smaller population than either) and have miles of excellent beaches.

Related Links

About the Turks and Caicos Islands

bottom of page